msc logoCorporate Information & Media Roommenu icon

MSC Cruises Wins Three Awards for Technology, Sustainability, and Collaborations


The consumer favourites of the inaugural Sailawaze Excellence Awards, in partnership with Metro, have been announced. MSC Cruises proudly took home three awards in Technology, Sustainability, and Collaborations.

The gala ceremony took place on 16 May at the Underglobe, located at Shakespeare’s Globe in central London, with Iglu Cruise as headline sponsor. 170 attendees were joined by host Patrick Grant, TV star and fashion designer, who judges hit BBC show The Great British Sewing Bee. The after-party was sponsored by Blue Soup, with after-party cocktails provided by Tidal Rum.    

More than 150 entries were submitted across eight categories. They were judged by a panel of cruise industry experts, with a shortlist subsequently going forward into a final round of consumer voting.    

Antonio Paradiso, Vice President of International Sales for MSC Group’s Cruise Division and UK & Ireland Managing Director of MSC Cruises and Explora Journeys, said: “I am delighted that MSC Cruises was awarded three customer choice Sailawaze awards and that Explora Journeys also received an award for Food & Beverage. It is fantastic to know that our customers voted for us in these categories. Thank you to Sailawaze for hosting a brilliant event that celebrated the best of the cruise and travel industry.”        

Patrick Grant said: “It was a lovely atmosphere and everyone had a great time. There are so many extraordinary things happening in the cruise industry, demonstrating there is something for everybody.”  

Rochelle Streater, Managing Director of Sailawaze, said: “Congratulations to all our winners. It was a fantastic night celebrating the cruise industry and the new, innovative concepts that are taking the guest experience to the next level. We’d like to extend our gratitude to everyone who took the time to enter, our expert panel of judges and all those who joined us at the Underglobe for what was a truly memorable occasion.”    

A full list of the winners can be found here